Although recreational marijuana is not yet legal in Utah, people who need cannabis for medical purposes are in luck. Medical Marijuana (MMJ) has been legal in the state since 2018. Although there were initially some restrictions associated with this law, in recent years it has become even easier for MMJ patients to obtain cards. and to access cannabis products for their health needs. So, is Utah an MMJ state? It is now! Read on for more information.
The History of MMJ in Utah
The use of medical marijuana was legalized in 2018 with the passage of Proposition 2. The law stated that anyone who met the criteria to qualify for an MMJ card would be issued one by the state. Additional laws have since been passed to prohibit discrimination against MMJ cardholders (particularly in legal matters of the family court system). There are also no criminal penalties in place for MMJ users in the state of Utah.
Utah Medical Marijuana Eligibility Requirements
In order to be eligible for a MMJ map in Utaha person must need cannabis for a medical need and must have one of the following conditions:
- HIV or AIDS
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
- Nausea (unless related to pregnancy, cannabis-induced cyclic vomiting syndrome, or cannabinoid hyperemesis syndrome)
- Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis
- Epilepsy (or other wasting seizures)
- Multiple sclerosis (or persistent, debilitating muscle spasms)
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) that is being treated and monitored by a licensed health therapist and has been diagnosed by the Veterans Administration and documented in the patient’s chart, or has been diagnosed by a psychiatrist, MSc Psychologist, MSc Clinical Social Worker or Psychiatric APRN
- Any terminal illness when the patient’s life expectancy is less than six months
- Any condition requiring the person to receive palliative care
- Any rare disease that affects fewer than 200,000 people in the United States and is not adequately managed despite attempts at treatment using conventional medications (other than opioids or opiates) or other physical interventions
- Pain that lasts longer than two weeks and is not adequately managed despite attempts at treatment using conventional medications (other than opioids or opiates) or other physical interventions
Patients with medical conditions not specifically listed in the law can apply to the Compassionate Use Board for a medical cannabis card. The Board reviews applications and recommends eligibility on a case-by-case basis.
The Utah MMJ Application Process
To obtain an MMJ card in the state of Utah, the patient must go through an application process. Individuals must be Utah residents and over the age of 21 (minors need their parents to qualify for a medical cannabis guardian card). They must meet in person a health care provider registered with the Utah Department of Health. During the visit, the doctor must make an assessment of the patient’s condition and note his medical history. Then the person can create a Utah ID account online by going to ID.Utah.gov.
After creating a profile, the patient’s doctor logs in and issues a referral (this is part of the online application). There is an initial patient card fee of $15 (and then a $15 fee for a six-month renewal) – these must be paid before the application can be processed. The completed application is then submitted online to the Utah Department of Health (UDOH).
The UDOH examines the request; this stage is generally completed in 15 days or less. If approved, UDOH will issue a card and email the patient a copy of their MMJ card, which can be saved to a smartphone or printed.
Utah MMJ Laws
So, is MMJ legal in Utah? This is the case, as long as the cardholder complies with any state legal restrictions. Medical cannabis can only be purchased in the following forms:
- Concentrated oil
- Liquid slurry
- Transdermal preparation
- gelatinous cube
- Unprocessed cannabis flower
- Wax or resin
- vaping pen
Smoking cannabis is not permitted, even for MMJ users, and the law prohibits all edibles (including candies, cookies, and brownies).
Patients cannot purchase or possess more than enough to provide 30 days of treatment. They cannot have more than 113 grams of unprocessed cannabis and more than 20 grams of total composite THC in all other medicinal dosage forms.
How to Get MMJ in Utah
The answer to the question “Is medical cannabis available in Utah?” is yes. There are several dispensaries/pharmacies throughout the state that offer medical marijuana products. Patients simply need to show their MMJ card, along with a valid photo ID to purchase cannabis products.
MMJ patients can access the products they need to improve their health by apply for an MMJ card in Utah today.
#MMJRecs #MMJ #Utah #Medical #Marijuana #Patient