In November 2018, Utah voters approved what is known as Proposition 2. This legislation legalized medical cannabis for patients who fall under any of the categories on the state’s list of approved conditions. In December of that year, the law went into effect, but then came under tighter restrictions that made it harder for people to access medical marijuana in Utah.
Since then, revisions have been made to the law to make it easier to have a medical marijuana card in Utah, such as prohibiting discrimination against people who use marijuana products. cannabis for medical purposes in certain legal cases (such as family court).
Further changes were enacted in 2020 which allowed more patients access to medical marijuana and removed all laws surrounding criminal penalties for patients. After all of these changes, more people than ever can treat the symptoms of their conditions with MMJ. So if you’re wondering “How do I get a medical marijuana card in Utah?” read on because we’ve got everything you need to know covered!
How easy is it to get a medical card in Utah?
The process for obtaining a medical marijuana card in Utah is simple for eligible individuals. The law states that individuals with qualifying conditions must meet certain requirements, including:
- Be a resident of Utah
- Submit an application
- Meet with a doctor registered to recommend medical cannabis in person
- Have certified eligibility for the use of medical marijuana
- Pay a $15 application fee
Individuals must be 21 to self-apply for an MMJ card in Utah. If a person is under 21, their parent or legal guardian must also be eligible for a medical marijuana card in order for the person to obtain one for themselves.
Once a patient submits their application with all required documents, it will be reviewed. This process can take up to 15 days. For minors, the review process can take up to 90 days.
Can you get a medical card online in Utah?
The process to obtain a medical marijuana card in Utah is not entirely online, but the application is submitted through online channels. The $15 application fee will also need to be submitted online. That being said, although the application and fees can be submitted online, the person seeking a Utah Medical Marijuana Card must meet with a doctor in person as mentioned above.
What qualifies you for a medical card in Utah?
According to Utah’s medical cannabis law, a person must have one of the following conditions to be considered for a medical marijuana card in the state:
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Persistent nausea that is not related to cannabis-induced vomiting syndrome or pregnancy
- Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis
- Epilepsy or other debilitating seizure disorders
- Multiple sclerosis or muscle spasms that are both persistent and debilitating
- Post-traumatic stress disorder which is also treated in therapy
- Terminal illness in which a person has less than six months to live
- A disease that requires hospice care
- Any rare condition or disease that affects fewer than 200,000 people in the United States and does not respond to other forms of treatment
- Chronic pain that lasts longer than two weeks and is not managed with conventional medication
Although this list sets out the eligibility requirements, there is a caveat for people whose illness does not fall under any of the conditions. If a person has a disease, disorder, or syndrome that might respond to medical marijuana but is not approved on the list above, they can apply to the Compassionate Use Board to plead their case. for a medical marijuana card. These authorizations are given on a case-by-case basis.
What are the rules around getting a medical card in Utah?
There are rules regarding the amount and types of products available to patients with a medical marijuana card in Utah. The types of products available include:
- Concentrated oils
- Liquid suspensions
- Transdermal preparations
- gelatinous cubes
- Unprocessed cannabis flower
- Wax or resin
- Devices for consuming cannabis, such as vape pens that heat marijuana without a flame
Edibles such as candies, cookies or brownies are prohibited, as is smoking cannabis.
When a Utah MMJ patient purchases their medical marijuana, they must have a treatment supply within 30 days based on the dosage recommendation given by their doctor. The supply should not exceed 113 grams of flower or 20 grams of total THC.
Medical marijuana laws in Utah continue to change month by month, but for now, getting a medical marijuana card in Utah is a straightforward process for those who qualify for cannabis use. as medicine.
#MMJRecs #Medical #Marijuana #Card #Utah